christical

Inspired by Jesus. From a Christian. For the Christian and anyone else who bothers to listen.

Topic Inspiration July 9, 2012

Filed under: Applied Faith,Christian Culture — christical @ 12:49 pm
Tags: , ,

Mood: Mind-boggled. o_O

Yesterday, I was having a conversation with a few friends. At one point the four of us in conversation were discussing superpowers and someone said something along the lines of: “If I had the power to give off heat, I could be Solar Energy Man and provide a great soure of renewable energy. We could solve the energy issues!”

If you don’t know me personally, then I should tell you that I tend to fall into a state of deep thought easily, and that I also tend to talk about Point A and then Point M without explaining points B-L. For those of you who do know me, then you’ll know that’s is believable that I said: “But every human system is so fallible. Sure, we find a replacement for the institution, but then that system stops and everything just comes crashing down. Humanity, just imperfect.”

Two responses came from this. The first was, “Dude, are you taking philosophy classes or something?” The second one was “True. But I’m not too sure what that has to do with it (in my opinion, it has a lot to do with everything, but the ability to understand my thoughts is pretty much an esoteric skill, seeing that I don’t even know how to describe my personality ;-p).”
This made two thoughts run through my head:

      1. Did I just make the conversation all serious and holy? Wow. Jesus Juke.
      2. I wonder why people can be so strong, but so helpless at the same time. Why do these breakdowns in the system keep happening in the world?

    The above conversation all happened at church, so I had a few different options: start a conversation with the pastor about it, turn the current conversation the state of humanity, or try to figure out how to write a blog post about it.

    We all know what that means. To the Bible!

    There are really two books that will help us the most here: Proverbs and Ecclesiastes.

    Proverbs goes off a lot of times about wisdom and what it can accomplish. Imagine the lectures you were given about responsibility when you were younger. Ecclesiastes, on the other hand, takes on a darker feeling, with streaks of confusion and anger.

    For example: eyes and ears. People want to keep these as optimal as possible. But sometimes, pursuit of stimulation is so wearisome!

    1. Proverbial: Ears that hear and eyes that see—the Lord has made them both. (Proverbs 20:12 NIV84)
    2. Ecclesiastical: All things are wearisome, more than one can say. The eye never has enough of seeing, nor the ear its fill of hearing. (Ecclesiastes 1:8 NIV84)

    Do you see what I’m getting at here? I’ll post some more of these tomorrow. For now, I need to study up on my books of wisdom, so I can provide the best possible teaching experience. 😉

    —The Jesus Freak Girl

 

Take the Mic!

