christical

Inspired by Jesus. From a Christian. For the Christian and anyone else who bothers to listen.

Wisdom: Blessing or Curse? July 10, 2012

Filed under: Let's Get Biblical! — christical @ 9:33 am
Tags: , ,

Yesterday, I decided to write a post comparing proverbial statements to ecclesiastical statements.

I’ll write a question, with two answers: the first from Proverbs, the second from Ecclesiastes.

What does wisdom bring?

  1. A man who loves wisdom brings joy to his father, (Proverbs 29:3A NIV84)
  2. For with much wisdom comes much sorrow; the more knowledge, the more grief. (Ecclesiastes 1:18 NIV84)

How important is wisdom?

  1. Wisdom is supreme; therefore get wisdom. Though it cost all you have, get understanding. (Proverbs 4:7 NIV84)
  2. Then I applied myself to the understanding of wisdom, and also of madness and folly, but I learned that this, too, is a chasing after the wind. (Ecclesiastes 1:17 NIV84)

Is constant work useful?

  1. All hard work brings a profit, but mere talk leads only to poverty. (Proverbs 14:23 NIV84)
  2. Yet when I surveyed all that my hands had done and what I had toiled to achieve, everything was meaningless, a chasing after the wind; nothing was gained under the sun. (Ecclesiastes 2:11 NIV84)

Then why should we have to work?

  1. The sluggard’s craving will be the death of him, because his hands refuse to work. (Proverbs 21:25 NIV84)
  2. The fool folds his hands and ruins himself. (Ecclesiastes 4:5 NIV84)

How the heck does God fit into my living and being?

  1. “The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom, and knowledge of the Holy One is understanding. (Proverbs 9:10 NIV84)
  2. Now all has been heard; here is the conclusion of the matter: Fear God and keep his commandments, for this is the whole duty of man. (Ecclesiastes 12:13 NIV84)

And that’s all I can do for today. I’m going to try to relax now.

 

2 Responses to “Wisdom: Blessing or Curse?”

  1. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I don¡¯t know who you are but certainly you are going to a famous blogger if you are not already Cheers!

    • Hey,
      Thanks for commenting!
      Right now, I am far from famous. :-p
      But I would rather be a servant in the house of God than the richest in the tents of the worldly!


Take the Mic!

