christical

Inspired by Jesus. From a Christian. For the Christian and anyone else who bothers to listen.

Intense Faith Journeys August 2, 2012

Filed under: Homemade Praise — christical @ 6:05 am
Tags: , ,

I was reading one of my favorite blogs earlier and found this article.

The question at the end of the article is: When have your expectations about God, religion and/or faith been changed? And how?

I decided it would be a really good idea to write my own blog post in response to the question, lest CampHappens would have a novel on their hands for a comment. πŸ˜‰

The Story

I’ll save my long-version testimony for another day. But right now I’m going to just talk about the last year or so.

A little more than a year ago, I stepped foot into my church’s contemporary service, by myself, in June. The thing I remember was the reality of Christianity. Up until then, I had attended traditional services, organ, hymnal, vestments, and all. Now I was being thrown headfirst into the applied part of faith. The band played well, and the praise team people had personalities that could immediately put you at ease, which definitely helped the Gospel-ful atmosphere. I think that it was awesome, having experiences where I could see faith in action, and in people.

I had been attending those services for about six months (now we’re in November) when I was talking to one of the guys on the praise team about a piece I was learning on the piano.

What I said: “I’m learning classical music on the piano. It’s really fun.”

What the worship leader heard: “Hey, I’m here to fulfill the prophecy of having a keyboardist on the praise team. Why not come ask me point-blank if I’d like to play with you guys, and then watch me blush and manage to stammer that I’ll ask my parents?”

Two weeks later, I started playing keyboard at church. The praise team people had random God-based conversations, and I started thinking about what it really meant to live in God.

I had started questioning everything I had previously done. Was it okay to recite prayers? What about prayers to the saints? Eventually, I decided to go with what I felt, and freestyle prayers with the Lord’s Prayer as a guideline.

God went from The Big Guy in the Sky to the one of my dreams, to the present, the past, and the future.

I guess it’s a hard thing to describe, that I just kept “getting” more into Christ, and I realized that what makes a Christian is the applied stuff that they have in their hearts. They don’t always know so much Bible, but they know the Gospel and live it out day-to-day, in such a way that one can see the change in them. And one asks that Christian for the reason for the Hope that they have, then they share the Gospel!

To sum up the above:
God: Became so much more centered and real in my life.
Religion: Every human system is fallible. That means religion. Jesus is my savior, not my religion.
Faith: Has gotten stronger. I went from sort of “meh” passive faith to this intense passion for God!

I’m a lot like this tree that growing on the rock of the island . . . πŸ™‚

β€”The Jesus Freak Girl

20120802-070040.jpg

 

Take the Mic!

