christical

Inspired by Jesus. From a Christian. For the Christian and anyone else who bothers to listen.

No Greater Love August 13, 2012

Filed under: Applied Faith,God's Grace Is Enough — christical @ 3:15 am
Tags: , , , ,

20120813-031439.jpg

Greater love has no one than this, that one lay down his life for his friends. (John 15:13 NASB)

I don’t think that a human can truly understand God’s great love for us, but I think that parents can relate most to God.

How many parents have stayed up late at night with a sick child? If you have, then you are truly rad. You know how it is. You’re tired. You might get a little bit frustrated when a child pukes on themselves. But it doesn’t make you love them any less. Instead, you help to undress them, get them in the shower, and set them resting again.

God is our Heavenly parent. His patience knows no bounds, he is loving, and slow to anger, knowing us fully yet still wanting us in a way we could never imagine.

The most humbling about all this? We could never reciprocate that love. Yes, it’s still love, but to come close to understanding it, one must understand that not all relationships are founded on equality. Parents of teenagers know what I mean here. Your child may think that they “hate” you because you won’t let them get a car, or you don’t like their boyfriend, but they’ve got it all wrong. You love them and want what’s best for them. And you’re usually right. They want to be equals with you, but you’re their parent. They never will be exactly equal with you, which can cause a lot of friction later in life. I hope, though, for the most part, the relationship with strengthen with time.

Finding true love for God is actually really difficult. Humans are used to give-and-take. But that’s not love. That’s an investment. So many relationships on earth (with God and other humans) are investment-based ones. Think about it. If you want to get in with a company and you know, say, the CEO personally, granted that you are the brave type, we all know the conversations that are sure to come. But first, you first gain their trust by bringing small gifts to their house, finding like things about your personality. Clearly I’m not in the position to judge, so I’ll put it mildly: humans are not the kind to experience unconditional love.

Parents of younger children have also had a recent experience with the great trial of life: potty training. Whether it be through sidewalk chalk or m&m’s, that child shall learn to use the toilet. Sounds familiar now, right? And that moment when your toddler finally learns, the joy that fills you, the unselfish kind, is probably a lot like what God feels when we achieve. We help others, evangelize, come to a great realization of faith – those are the moments for which one working to please God strive.

Not to say that God doesn’t feel anything other than happiness. When we fall into sin (again), God feels a sort of pain, because we have strayed, but I don’t think He’s at all disappointed.

I thank God for this day, for the sun in the sky, for my mom, and my dad, and this piece of apple pie. For our home on the ground, and His love that’s all around, that’s why I say thanks every day. Because a thankful heart is a happy heart. I’m glad for what I have, that’s an easy way to start. For the love that He shares, ’cause He listens to my prayers, that’s why I say thanks every day. —Veggie Tales

I know that this side of God, we love to discuss, because it gives us that warm and fuzzy feeling. But soon, I’m going to go into another facet of God: the part of Jesus that cleared out the temple, the one who called out the Pharisees, the one will judge us all on the last day.

However, I won’t do that today. Here’s a final quote to chew on for a while.

I want to walk as a child of the Light
I want to follow Jesus
God set the stars to give light to the world
The Star of my life is Jesus.

In Him there is no darkness at all
The night and the day are both alike
The love is the Light of the city of God
Shine in my heart Lord Jesus.

—I Want to Walk as a Child of the Light

Have a good week everyone. God be with you!

—The Jesus Freak Girl

 

Take the Mic!