christical

Inspired by Jesus. From a Christian. For the Christian and anyone else who bothers to listen.

Christian-izing Secular Songs. August 24, 2012

Filed under: Christian Culture — christical @ 9:40 am

“I hear Jerusalem bells a-ringing, Roman Calvary choirs a-singing, be my mirror, my sword and shield, my missionaries in a foreign field, for some reason I can’t explain, I know Saint Peter won’t call my name, never an honest word, but that was when I ruled the world.”

“So free me, I just wanna feel what life should be . . . I just want enough space to turn around and face the truth, so free me . . .”

“When lies become the truth, that’s when I run to you . . . This world keeps spinning faster, to a new disaster so I run to you, I run to you, baby, when it all starts coming undone, baby you’re the only one I run to . . . I run to you.”

Whenever I listen to these songs, I can always imagine someone singing to God. Even though the songs aren’t Christian, they sure sound Christian.

The first song is “Viva la Vida” by Coldplay. It sounds Christian to me because of all of the biblical references. Perhaps it’s about Satan, or even Judas. Or it’s simply another believer who spent his life building sand castles and then realized their total depravity (more about depravity another day).

Our second song in the lineup is called “Free Me” by a ska punk band called Goldfinger. I had stumbled across it whilst looking up PETA videos (my teacher was feeling vegetarian that day and decided to tell us about slaughterhouses). Note: I wouldn’t recommend listening to the song if you are offended by cursing. The chorus of the song, which I posted, seems like a cry to God, asking for freedom from lies and themselves.

Last, we have “I Run to You” by Lady Antebellum. Clearly, I could never talk about Christian-sounding music without going to country! I relate to this song so well, simply because God is that rock of truth in my soul. And though our lives are filled with creations that fade eventually, we focus on those more than the Everlasting! I guess that the human soul searches for safety.

The lyrics of Chris Tomlin’s “I Will Rise” come to mind:

There’s a peace I’ve come to know. Though my heart and flesh may fail, there’s an anchor for my soul, I can say “It is well”!

Happy Friday everyone. Peace be with you.

*The Jesus Freak Girl*

 

Take the Mic!

