christical

Inspired by Jesus. From a Christian. For the Christian and anyone else who bothers to listen.

Big Brother is not Our Father August 30, 2012

Filed under: God's Grace Is Enough — christical @ 3:54 pm

20120901-200348.jpg

I finished reading Orwell’s Nineteen Eighty-Four two nights ago. A word of advice: don’t finish anything by Orwell at night.

Anyway, I was intrigued by the idea of a Big Brother and the Thought Police, watching our every single movement. Sounds creepy, doesn’t it? Thank goodness that its not true.

For some reason, I found myself remembering the children’s song:

Oh be careful little eyes what you see.
Oh be careful little eyes what you see.
For the Father up above is looking down in love,
So be careful little eyes what you see.

It’s not possible to love what you fear. So why teach children this song? It makes God sound less like a loving, but just being and more like the Thought Police! Intimidating people into doing what’s right for God’s love isn’t loving God on either side.

Three types of believers can be found in a church: the ones with an active relationship, the ones going through the motions, and the ones who go to church for the fire insurance. The ones going through the motions in their faith often end up becoming the fire insurance believers–believers who believe just to not go to Hell.

Unfortunately, people seem to be afraid of God. Me? I can’t honestly say that I’ve had enough life experience to know what it’s like to have that amazing respect and love for God I see in my older friends. All I know is that he is an amazing soul, almighty, beautiful beyond description, and I am in love with my Savior.

Some say that we should do the right thing because God wants us to do it.

I say that we do do the right thing as a fruit of God’s Spirit working in our lives.

Objective morals definitely exist. Have you reached a gray area? Check out the Ten Commandments. But remember that some other laws in Leviticus really don’t seem relevant to today’s world. I personally don’t worry about them, but it’s not my place to judge what laws I should follow.

Either way, remember that God loves you despite everything you’ve done. He understands your tendency to sin, which is why He gave you that freedom from it in Christ. And many people get so caught up in guilt that they get pushed away from that freedom. I suppose that happens to everyone at different points.

But throw yourself onto God. A relationship with Him is a freely given gift. Hand Him your shortcomings and iniquities, because God has His hand on the relationship. Remember, Jesus isn’t called the Alpha and Omega for no reason, amen?

*The Jesus Freak Girl*

 

Take the Mic!

