christical

Inspired by Jesus. From a Christian. For the Christian and anyone else who bothers to listen.

In the Moment January 29, 2013

Filed under: Applied Faith — christical @ 7:45 pm

20130129-194333.jpg

1, 2,3, like a bird I sing / ’cause you’ve given me the most beautiful pair of wings / I’m so glad you’re here today / ’cause tomorrow I might have to go and fly away.

Have y’all ever had those moments when you’re having a good time with someone or doing something and then you start to think about how awesome the moment is? Then the question hits you: why can’t you stay in this moment? Why must the day end?

Really, I’ve never liked long goodbyes. We draw out this painful experience, yet refuse to put our goodbyes behind us. It can be so liberating to let something go and prepare your mind for new memories. A friend of mine likes to say, “Today is a gift; that’s why it’s called the present.” A church sign once said, “The past is a point of reference, not a place of residence.”

Even so, I feel a longing sometimes to stay in a certain moment. Somehow, I find the hope and strength to accept the next day. This is because, although I enjoy revisiting memories, I am excited for what the future holds. As humans, the future tends to be quite exciting if we know the nature of what we’re going to get and are satisfied with it. As a Christian, however, we can be satisfied with our future, knowing that it rests in God’s hands.

While writing this, I am reminded of the worship song “God of This City” because of the chorus:

Greater things are yet to come/ greater things are still to be done in this city/ Greater things are yet to come/ greater things are still to be done here.

It’s sometimes laughable how much time and worry we give to the future! Jesus told us himself, “Do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will take care of itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

This week, I encourage you to pick the favorite moment of your day. Then, say to yourself, “That was a beautiful moment, Lord. I thank you for it and await to see what else you have in store for me.” According to Jeremiah 29:11, God’s plans give us hope and prosperity. Whether it’s material or spiritual prosperity that you will receive, I pray that you walk led by the Lord all the days of your life.

•JFG

 

Take the Mic!

